cover image

Time in Australia

Time zones in Australia / From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Dear Wikiwand AI, let's keep it short by simply answering these key questions:

Can you list the top facts and stats about Time in Australia?

Summarize this article for a 10 year old

SHOW ALL QUESTIONS

Australia uses three main time zones: Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST; UTC+10:00), Australian Central Standard Time (ACST; UTC+09:30) and Australian Western Standard Time (AWST; UTC+08:00).[1]

Australia-states-timezones-D000A.png
Time in Australia
Standard DST Zone States/territories
UTC+06:30 (year round) Cocos CC
UTC+07:00 (year round) Christmas CX
UTC+08:00 (year round) Western WA
UTC+09:30 (year round) Central NT
UTC+09:30 UTC+10:30 Central SA, Broken Hill
UTC+10:00 (year round) Eastern QLD
UTC+10:00 UTC+11:00 Eastern NSW, TAS, Macquarie Island, VIC, ACT, JBT
UTC+11:00 UTC+12:00 Norfolk NF

Time is regulated by the individual state governments,[2] some of which observe daylight saving time (DST). Daylight saving time (+1 hour) is used between the first Sunday in October and the first Sunday in April in jurisdictions in the south and south-east:

Standard time was introduced in the 1890s when all of the Australian colonies adopted it. Before the switch to standard time zones, each local city or town was free to determine its local time, called local mean time. Now, Western Australia uses Western Standard Time; South Australia and the Northern Territory use Central Standard Time; while New South Wales, Queensland, Tasmania, Victoria, Jervis Bay Territory, and the Australian Capital Territory use Eastern Standard Time. Daylight saving time is not currently used in Western Australia, the Northern Territory or Queensland.

The Cocos (Keeling) Islands uses UTC+06:30 year round, Christmas Island uses UTC+07:00 year round, while Norfolk Island uses UTC+11:00 as standard time and UTC+12:00 as daylight saving time.

Oops something went wrong: